My 50 favorite songs of 2015

Who knew??

Where were you when Rae Sremmurd released their debut album SremmLife? You probably weren’t listening to SremmLife, and that’s perfectly understandable. I discovered it myself a couple weeks after its January 6th release date at a hippie school party, and I distinctly remember telling someone “this is stupid and so good” upon listening to “Throw Sum Mo” for the first time. It was the perfect kick-off to a fantastic year for music, a year in which even the stupid stuff sounded great.

Of course, not everything from 2015 was stupid. Artists like Kendrick Lamar, Deafheaven, and Grimes surpassed expectations by releasing highly enjoyable and intelligent projects. Sounds unfamiliar to the charts like those from Kamasi Washington’s saxophone and Joanna Newsom’s harp found their way into the public ear. And even the stupid stuff like all things New Atlanta and Top-40 sounded not terrible, maybe even good, for the first time I can remember. I might need a year to digest before I can definitively call 2015 my favorite year in music (2007 will be tough to topple), but I can say that this year’s edition of my favorite songs of the year is the best collection I’ve rounded up since this started in 2010.

So here they are, my 50 favorite songs of the year. I guarantee you’ll like some of them.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

