Favorites of 2014.5

This is my first post and I’m not a writer. Thanks to cromo1969 for letting me post on his blog.

I find myself calling a lot of songs my favorite so I narrowed it down.

These are my 10 favorite from a great 2014….. so far.

 

10. “A Dream of You and Me” – Future Islands

Not to be confused with a young Marlon Brando, frontman Samuel T. Herring and his band Future Islands gained popularity from their (or his) performance on Letterman. He does this every show.

 

 

9. “My Silver Lining” – First Aid Kit

Ummm they sound like they are from Omaha right? Ummm no….actually Sweden, thank you very much.

 

8. “Colours to Life” – Temples

First time I saw these dudes names was on the 2014 Coachella poster. They were on the same Saturday line as CHVRCHES…. lawl. Just think if The Beatles and Tame Impala had a baby.

 

 

7. “Awake” – Tycho

Scott Hansen does it again with a great melodic album.

 

 

6. “Suffering” – The War On Drugs

The War On Drugs are the creation of a couple Bob Dylan Fans, Adam Granduciel and Kurt Vile who met at a party. Though Vile left the band after their debut studio album, Granduciel has continued the success of the band and put out their best album yet.

 

5. “Sun Models (feat. Madelyn Grant)” – ODESZA

I’m glad this song is getting millions of plays. They deserve it. I’ve listened to this Seattle crew more than any other over the past 2 years. They’ve just added a bunch of dates to their tour so I recommended attending.

 

 

4. “1998” – Chet Faker

Australians definitely know how to make electronic-based music. Chet, Flume, Jagwar Ma, Cut Copy, RÜFÜS, Empire Of The Sun, Miami Horror etc.

 

 

3. “Soft Breeze”- Sun Glitters

If someone could venture a guess of what the voice is saying I’d love to hear it.

 

2. “Hey Now” – London Grammar

By far my favorite album of 2014 so far. It was very hard to pick a song off of it with its amazing blend of ambient, ethereal and soaring vocals from Hannah Reid. You might recognize her voice from another English Electronic Duo’s song Help Me Lose My Mind ft. London Grammar.

 

1. “Had to Hear & Crime” – Real Estate

I HAD to pick 2 songs from Real Estate’s new album Atlas

The perfect summer album? Yeah

Beach + Real Estate = guaranteed happy summer? I certainly think so

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

