Anticipation…

There isn’t a phrase used more in sonic marketing than “new music.” It’s as if we customers are a jittery bunch throwing away CDs we bought a month ago in hopes of discovering a fresh fix. That’s not exactly how I operate.

I have this terrible habit of discovering music exactly a year after it was released. As a listener, I appreciate the discoveries regardless of the time frame, but as a fledgling writer, I need to set my clock better. Of the fifteen albums I have purchased this year, only Frank Ocean‘s Channel Orange and Fiona Apple‘s The Idler Wheel… (both superb) were released sine January 1st. It was even worse last year. I didn’t purchase my first “new” album until October when M83‘s Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming dropped.

Things are looking up this year for “new music.” Both The xx (space) and Animal Collective (hippies) launch albums in September, followed by new Kendrick Lamar (boss) and Titus Andronicus (America!) in October. M.I.A. (international boss) will also be releasing something eventually this year, and there may or may not be a new Beck (*squeals*) album in the works. There’s probably a bunch I am missing.
If you’re at a record shop, happy hunting! If you go green, happy surfing! But whatever the case, purchase your music. It’s the right thing to do (unless the artist tells you not to).

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

